web analytics

Mr. Smith Goes to Washington

Watch Now


Viewer Rating:

Coming Soon


129 Minutes


Jean Arthur, James Stewart and Claude Rains star in Frank Capra's Mr. Smith Goes To Washington, the award-winning 1939 classic about an idealistic, small town senator who heads to Washington and suddenly finds himself single-handedly battling ruthless politicians out to destroy him. When Frank Capra decided to film the novel "The Gentleman From Montana", he ran into an obstacle Director Rouben Mamoulian owned the rights to the story. Unwilling to sell, Mamoulian eventually traded the material to Columbia on the condition that he be allowed to direct Golden Boy. As Capra began working on the film, now called Mr. Smith Goes To Washington, it was suggested that Gary Copper, the star of Mr. Deeds Goes to Town, take the lead. Capra selected Jimmy Stewart instead and the film solidified Stewart's movie career, garnering him his first Academy Award® nomination. Receiving a total of eleven 1939 Oscar® nominations (including Best Picture and Best Director), and winning one (Best Motion Picture Story), Mr. Smith Goes To Washington is considered one of Capra's, Stewart's and Columbia's finest films. It also marked the end of an era. It was Capra's final film for the studio.


Al Bridge
Alec Craig
Alex Novinsky
Allan Cavan
Anne Cornwall
Arthur Loft
Arthur Thalasso
Astrid Allwyn
Beatrice Curtis
Ben Taggart
Bess Wade
Beulah Bondi
Billy Lechner
Billy Watson
Billy Wayne
Blanche Payson
Bobby Larson
Brooks Benedict
Burr Caruth
Byron Foulger
Carl Stockdale
Charles Lane
Charles R. Moore
Charles Regan
Charles Sullivan
Claude Rains
Clyde Dilson
Colin James Mackey
Count Stefenelli
Craig Stevens
Dave Willock
David Wade
Davison Clark
Delmar Watson
Dick Elliott
Dick Jensen
Donald Kerr
Dora Clement
Douglas Evans
Dulcie Day
Ed Brewer
Ed Randolph
Eddie Coke
Eddie Fetherston
Eddie Kane
Eddy Chandler
Edmund Cobb
Edward Arnold
Edward Earle
Edward Thomas
Edwin August
Eleanor Wood
Emma Tansey
Eric Mayne
Erville Alderson
Eugene Pallette
Evalyn Knapp
Ferris Taylor
Field Norton
Florence Wix
Frank Austin
Frank Jaquet
Frank M. Thomas
Frank O'Connor
Frank Otto
Frank Puglia
Fred Hoose
Frederick Burton
Frederick Vroom
Garry Watson
Gene Morgan
George Chandler
George Cooper
George Lloyd
George Mckay
Georgia Caine
Georgie Cooper
Gladys Gale
Gladys Gale
Grant Mitchell
Gus Glassmire
Guy Kibbee
H.B. Warner
Hal Cooke
Hank Mann
Harlan Briggs
Harry A. Bailey
Harry Anderson
Harry Burkhardt
Harry C. Bradley
Harry Carey
Harry Hayden
Harry Stafford
Harry Strang
Harry Tenbrook
Harry Watson
Helen Jerome Eddy
Henry Hebert
Henry Roquemore
Howard M. Mitchell
Jack Cooper
Jack Egan
Jack Gardner
Jack Lindquist
Jack Low
Jack Rice
Jack Richardson
Jackie Lowe
James Mcnamara
James Millican
James Stewart
Jane Loofbourrow
Jean Arthur
Jesse Graves
Jimmie Lucas
Joe Devlin
Joe King
Joe Palma
John Dilson
John Ince
John Lester Johnson
John Russell
John Tyrrell
John Ward
Johnny Russell
June Gittelson
Kathryn Bates
Ken Carpenter
Lafe Mckee
Landers Stevens
Larry Simms
Larry Steers
Laura Treadwell
Layne Tom Jr.
Lester Dorr
Lew Davis
Lloyd Ingraham
Lloyd Whitlock
Lorna Gray
Louis Jean Heydt
Lynton Brent
Mabel Forrest
Margaret Mann
Mary Gordon
Mary Maclaren
Maurice Cass
Maurice Costello
Max Waizmann
Milton Kibbee
Mitchell Ingraham
Myonne Walsh
Neal Dodd
Nick Copeland
Olaf Hytten
P.H. Levy
Paul Kruger
Paul Stanton
Philip Hurlic
Philo Mccullough
Pierre Watkin
Porter Hall
Ralph Mccullough
Ray Nichols
Richard Clucas
Richard Kipling
Robert Dudley
Robert Middlemass
Robert Morgan
Robert Walker
Robert Walker
Roger Haliday
Russell Simpson
Ruth Donnelly
Sam Ash
Sammy Mckim
Shirley Coates
Spencer Quinn
Stanley Andrews
Stanley Mack
Thomas Mitchell
Tom Quinn
Tommy Baker
Tommy Bupp
Vera Lewis
Vernon Dent
Victor Travers
Wade Boteler
Wally Dean
Walter Sande
Walter Soderling
Wilfred Hari
Wilfred Lucas
William Arnold
William Demarest
William Newell
William Worthington
Wilson Benge
Wright Kramer
Wyndham Standing



blog comments powered by Disqus